//
you're reading...
Tagi Qolouvaki

A literary treat for your Friday

A beautiful poem by one of the diasporadic679 artists…

Untitled/secrets or Confessions
By Tagi Qolouvaki

I release

Relinquish

These secrets

This one

And this one

About my mothers

About myself

I will peel the skin off this secret

Spoon out its soft

Insides

Feed them

To you

This one I will crack open

Like a coconut

Under the blunt edge of a machete

I will pour out its juice

And bathe you in it

So you awaken

And I heal

I will re-seed

My center

Fill my

Insides

Anew

With sweetness

Grow new skin

Soft and brown

I will retrieve

My soul from

Sunlit

Stained glass

Temples

Of childhood

And peace will leak

Through my pores

Like sweat

The scent of guava

Vinaka Tagi :’)

About PIMPI

I am a visual artist of kailoma Fijian ancestry, currently living in Manukau City, South Auckland, New Zealand. I work towards developing the profile of Pacific Arts for Pacific audiences within Pacific contexts, artistic self-determination, in New Zealand and in Suva...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

